Brrrrr

When I left the house yesterday morning for my run it was 30 degrees. 30 degrees people. Can you imagine the horror?

I know many of you live further north, I’m happily ensconced in southern Missouri, and I lived much farther north for many years. Really. I grew up in northern Canada. I know what cold is. But every year right about now I’m shocked and appalled once again by the weather.

My first order of business then is to try to remember what in the world do I wear for my run. Hat. Check. Gloves. Check. But how many other layers. Yesterday it was my running tights, a soft wicking t-shirt and a long-sleeved running shirt with a wind-proof neon jacket on top of it all. It took a mile or two, but by the end of my route I was lovely and warm. Except of course when I ran north into the wind. Brrrr.

I’ve discovered a little online tool that I like to use to help make these crucial decisions. Runner’s World has a “What in blazes should I wear today?” link that I’ve used many times and will probably continue to use.

http://www.runnersworld.com/what-to-wear

Run Gear Guru has another easy form-based running wear recommendation tool:

http://rungearguru.appspot.com/

I see on the weather that it’s supposed to be even colder tonight. Ick. So I guess I’ll go ahead and choose my layers for tomorrow too. Hurrah.

What’s the temperature where you are today? 25 degrees.

And how do you handle running in the winter? Suck it up, buttercup.

Leave a Reply

