TGIF

So it’s the weekend. Hurrah.

And what better way is there to spend the weekend than running? And reading about running? And possibly writing about running?

Saturday’s always long run day. Trail run day. Fun run day. Can’t wait day.

But even a long trail run won’t take ALL day or ALL weekend. So what then? Time to enjoy one of my Christmas presents. Merry Christmas to me.

Every year Santa brings a sack full of books to our house. This year one of his books was The Terrible and Wonderful Reasons Why I Run Long Distances by Matthew Inman aka The Oatmeal.

oatmeal

If you’re not familiar with The Oatmeal, you can find him online and on facebook and all the usual places.

Wonderfully silly and irreverent, The Oatmeal pokes fun at the many ways we runners tend to take ourselves too seriously.

We spend time obsessing about miles and foot strike and and times and fueling. Fueling, really? Isn’t that just an incredibly obnoxious word for EATING? I am not a car. I am a human being. I eat. I drink. I don’t fuel myself.

(Can’t even type that with a straight face.)

Anyway, besides providing entertainment for the whole family. Watch mum laugh till she cries anyone? The book also comes with stickers. Not the obnoxious stickers you’re familiar with: 10k, 13.1, 26.2, TRI.

But: 0.0 and I Believe in the Blerch. Wonder how those would look on the back of my little blue Chevy. Hmmm?

*Disclaimer: I received this book for free, from Santa, and would highly recommend it to runners and their friends and families who need to relax, lighten up,and just quit obsessing quite so much.

2 thoughts on “TGIF

  1. I love The Oatmeal. I have one about dogs. I think it’s titled my dog the paradox. Great stuff. Thanks for sharing the book I will be picking up a copy this week! Enjoy the trail run 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

