How do you know…

When it’s time to take a break?

We all get there eventually – minutes (or maybe steps) away from injury or burnout. And then? Do you really want to take the weeks or months necessary to really recover?

I don’t.

So it seems smart to maybe take a day or two off sooner rather than waiting till I’m hurt and being forced into a much, much, much longer recovery time.

I read an interesting tip yesterday. (If I could remember where I’d give appropriate credit. So if YOU know where I read this, please let me know and I’ll add a little note.)

The writer/runner said that when you’re logging your run, wherever you do that, you should rate it on a scale of 1 to 10. 1 being the WORST RUN EVER. And 10 being nirvana. Then you should go back and look at your last week or month of training. And when you find a string of 3 or 4 runs rated at or below a 4….it’s time to take 3 or 4 days off.

As for me? I’m currently sort of following a training plan with a group of runners who are doing their first ultra in October. Yesterday’s assignment was a set of Yasso 800s. You familiar with those? And my time was dreadful. Appalling. Embarrassing.

Ok. I was sore. I’ve been running a lot. So my first 800 was slow. But that was not a surprise and I thought I’d get faster. And I did. A teeny, tiny bit faster. But it was hardly measurable.

Then, later in the day, I took Ax for his walk. And could barely stagger along down the sidewalk. It’s sad when your miniature doxie is racing along and you’re struggling to keep up. Trust me. I know. That was when I decided it must be time to take a couple of days off.

So this morning when my eyes sprang open at 5:30 I persuaded myself to roll over next to Phil and relax. A few deep breaths and I was snoozing again. I’ll do that again tomorrow, and we’ll see what Saturday brings.

I’ll be here.

IMG_20150611_093741157_HDR

5 thoughts on “How do you know…

  1. Oh yes! Sooooo hard to take a break, but vital that we do:-) I freak out every time at the idea that I will ‘lose fitness’, but in the end, I enjoy myself, catch up with friends or a book, write a blog post or two 😉 then back with more energy! Enjoy the sun!

    Like

      1. If you like humor and aren’t opposed to some creative use of foul language…I recommend Christopher Moore. My hands down favorite author. He has literally had me in tears from laughing so hard at a perfectly placed and crafted sentence in every single book he has written. Enjoy your resting!

        Like

      2. Hmmm…recent reads that I have enjoyed: The Miniaturist (Jessie Burton), a little gem of a novel, perhaps a little light on some level of historical accuracy, but enjoyable. The Buried Giant (Kazuo Ishiguro), absolutely amazing but difficult novel- his first in 10 years-. If you have read anything by David Mitchell (cloud atlas author) you will love his new one, The Bone Clocks. I would say that it is worth checking any interviews he has done about it…to get a context. It’s wonderful:-)

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

