Running with the Tigers

Sure, she said, let’s run trails.

It’ll be fun, she said.

What she didn’t say, You might not be able to sit down or get up without help for a day or two.

And that, friends, is how Running with the Tigers was.

FUN. No kidding. A ton of fun. Good trail. Great runners. Chili afterwards for lunch AND tigers.

Sunday, however, not quite so much fun.

But let’s not get ahead of ourselves here. Let’s talk about the run for a minute.

See how perky and enthusiastic we were before we began.

pre run selfie

Then we went up the hill and down the hill and up the hill and down the hill and up the hill and up and up and up the hill. No kidding.

IMG_20150919_112222327

And up.

IMG_20150919_112234234

And past the big cats.

white tiger

Yes. I WAS happy there were fences.

lion waiting for lunch

Last time up the hill, I might have accepted a piggyback ride if one had been on offer. But somehow I managed to stagger to the top and then down the last hill and across the finish line.

Hurrah.

Well-placed finish line.

Conclusion? I’m glad we ran it. I’m glad it’s done. And I’ll happily sign up again next year.

I placed 2nd in my age group. Yay old broads. And we met six or eight runners who we’ll see again at Dogwood Canyon in a month. Talked strategy. Nutrition. Hills.

Maybe I’ll had a few more hills into my last month of training. Or is it too late for that?

Hope not.

Leave a Reply

