A Beautiful Day for a Run

It was, I kid you not, a beautiful day for a run. By the time I hit the trail after school, the sun was low on the horizon, sending golden streams of light flowing across the snow. Absolutely beautiful. Purple and blue shadows pooled behind trees and bushes. Lovely.

The questions was…why were there so few people out there?

No question really. -17 degrees and just a hint of a breeze. Brrrr.

So although my phone died because of the cold and I have no pictures to show of the beauty, I was not the only living creature enjoying the late afternoon.

My friends included…

crow-631740_1920

One of the coolest things about these big black birds is the amazing variety of noises they make. Listen to just one sample and know they croak; they knock; they click; they mimic other noises. I enjoy listening for them on the trails.

 

red poll

 

 

 

The red poll is another one of those cheery little birds that hangs around all winter making the day a little brighter.

chickadeeBut my absolute favourite has always been the chickadees. How these tiny birds survive the coldest winter weather is a mystery to me, and seeing them when I’m on the trail always perks me up. Even when they’re invisible, hearing their call makes my day.

Thanks to my friends online for the pix – I wasn’t kidding about my phone freezing. It took almost 3 miles before my hands warmed up, and I was very happy for a mug of tea when I got home again.

Only one thing left to say… See you on the trails, pals. Hopefully when it warms up a bit.

One thought on “A Beautiful Day for a Run

Leave a Reply

